The Weston Road Academy

The Weston Road Primary Acedemy
Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy


Our Governing Board is made up of a group of individuals from both the Academy and the wider community.  The role of the Academy Governing Board is to provide strategic leadership, accountability and to act as a critical friend.

The Governing Board meets at least three times a year, and establishes an overall framework for the governance of the Academy and determines Membership, Terms of Reference and Procedure for Sub-Committees. the Full Governing Board delegates policy forming powers to the appropriate Sub-Committee.

The three Sub-Committees are the Finance and Premises Committee, Curriculum and Standards Committee and Staffing Committee.  The Term of Office for Governors, with the exception of the Principal, is four years. 

The Academy has the following Governor Categories, as per the Articles of Association and Funding Agreement:-

  • The Principal
  • Governors (up to 3) - who are appointed by the Academy Trust
  • Community Governors (up to 3) - Co-opted by the Academy Trust
  • Parent Governors (not less than 2 and up to 6) – elected by parents
  • Staff Governors (up to 3) – elected by staff, representing teaching and non-teaching staff
  • Student Associate Governors

The term of office for our Governors is 4 years.

Scheme of Delegation 2016-17

Contacting Our Chair of Governors

Mr Andrew Hind, Chair of Governors can be contacted on the details below:

Mr Andrew Hind

C/O The Weston Road Academy,

Blackheath Lane,


ST18 0YG


Please click on the link below for the Register of Pecuniary Interest, Governor Meeting Attendance and on each of the Governor's names in the table below to view their profile.

Register of Pecuniary Interest 2017/18

Governor Meeting Attendance 2014-15

Governor Meeting Attendance 2015-16

Governor Meeting Attendance 2016-17

 The Weston Road Academy's Governing BoARD Membership 


Name Of Governor

Governor Category

Term of Office commenced for a Period of 4 Years

Position Of Responsibility, Committees and Department Links

The Academy Trust

Mr David Moore



Academy Trust - Chair

Major Jonathan Mayne



 Academy Trust Member


Mrs A Kingman




Curriculum and Standards Committee

Finance & Premises Committee

Staffing Committee

Governors Appointed by the Academy Trust (up to 3 members) 2 Vacancies

Mr John Heath

Governor Appointed by the Academy Trust

Commenced October 2012 and continued October 2016

Finance & Premises Committee

Underperforming Departments Link

Governors Co-opted by the Governing Board (Up to 3 members)

Mr Paul Glover

Governors Co-opted by The Academy Trust

Commenced September 2014

Finance & Premises Committee

Staffing Committee

Previously Parent Governor

Staff Link

Mr Justin Hales

Governors Co-opted by The Academy Trust

Commenced February 2013

Curriculum and Standards Committee (Chair)

Safeguarding, Online Safety and Pastoral Care Link

Mr Martin Fiddler

Governors Co-opted by The Academy Trust

Commenced March 2013

Staffing Committee

Sixth Form Link

Parent Governors (Between 2 and 6 members)

Mr Jerry Archer

Parent Governor

Commenced December 2014

Curriculum and Standards Committee

Data and Underperforming Departments Link

Mr Dougie Craig

Parent Governor

Commenced October 2014

Vice Chair of the Governing Board

Finance & Premises Committee

Health & Safety and Premises Link

Mr Andrew Hind

Parent Governor

 Commenced November 2016

Became Chair of Governors September 2017

Chair of Governors Curriculum and Standards Committee, Data, Teaching & Learning and Underperforming Departments Link

Mr Andy Jackson

Parent Governor


March 2016

Finance & Premises Committee Chair

Finance & Premises Committee

Data and Teaching & Learning Link

Mrs Louise Lewis

Parent Governor

Commenced March 2016

Curriculum and Standards Committee

Data, Key Groups and SEND Link

Staff Governors (Up to 3 members) - 1 vacancy

Ms Anita Baker

Staff Governor

Commenced October 2014

Staffing Committee

Pastoral Care Link

 Mrs Lynn Jones

Staff Governor

 Commenced April 2017

 Staffing Committee


Governor and Sub-Committee Meetings

Governors Meeting Calendar 2017-18